Banner for Guest Review page
Link to Home Page Link to Accommodation Link to Surroundings Link for Rates and Terms
Link to Directions & Maps Link for Guest Reviews Link to Contact Us Link to Availability

Felsensict Holiday Home
on FlipKey

Main bedroom at Felsensicht
Main Bedroom at Felsensicht
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Balcony at Felsensicht
Balcony at Felsensicht
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Felsensicht in Early Evening Light
Felsensicht in Early Evening Light
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Dining-room and Kitchen at Felsensicht Holiday Home
Dining-room and Kitchen at Felsenischt Holiday Home
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Kitchen at Felsensicht with view of patio and sea
Kitchen with Sea View
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

2nd bathroom at Felsensicht Holiday Home
2nd Bathroom at Felsensicht Holiday Home
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Penguins Nearby to Felsensicht
Penguins near Felsensicht
Click here to view enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Boulders near Felsensicht
Boulders near Felsensicht
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Felsensicht During the Early Evening
Felsensicht During the Early Evening
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

En Suite Bathroom with Fabulous View of the Ocean
En Suite Bathroom
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Twin Bedroom - new look
Twin Bedroom
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Sea-kayaking in False Bay
Sea-kayaking in False Bay
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Sunrise at Felsensicht
Sunrise at Felsensicht
Click here for enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Lounge at Felsensicht
Lounge at Felsensicht
Click here to view enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Middle Bedroom at Felsensicht
Middle Bedroom at Felsensicht
Click here to view enlarged version

 

 

 

 

Twin Bedroom at Felsensicht
Twin Bedroom at Felsensicht
Click here to view enlarged version

Guest Reviews

Review by Riana Prins, South Africa (stayed May 2021)

We had an amazing weekend. Your home is stunning, well equipped and very clean. We would love to do this again!

Review on Travelground by Mary Berry, South Africa (stayed April 2021)

Felsensicht Holiday Home delivered beyond our expectations. Highly recommended:
This home from home is perfectly situated on the holiday side of town. We witnessed dolphins, whales, kayakers, snorkelers, divers, swimmers, boats, birds and the most sublime view imaginable. Then we took a short walk down to the beach to take part ourselves. The accommodation is superb, perfectly maintained, and generous in every way. Thank you to Gail and Rene for opening your home to us and Chesney for your enthusiasm and kind introduction. We will be back.

Review by Mary Berry, South Africa (stayed April 2021)

I would just like to thank you for the most incredible weekend in your lovely home.  We were bowled over by the accommodation and generosity with which you rent your place out.  We were so comfortable, immediately at ease, and wanted for nothing. Chesney is a delight and instantly made us feel at home. Thank you for all the welcome treats too - so kind. 

It felt like we had been away for far longer than a weekend.  We did have the most perfect, warm, windless days and even got into the sea a few times.

I will most certainly recommend Felsensicht to my friends and family.

Review by Ken Cheung, South Africa (stayed February 2021)

My wife and I travel - a lot. If we stay in a nice place, I will normally spend 5 mins writing the review. For example "everything was great, the location or view was good and the host was very nice". This time is different. I know I am going to spend the next 30 mins writing this. I am an investor. We invest in properties. I am also in the hospitality business. And, I am Airbnb Superhost. Generally speaking, my standard is quite high and I am very proud of that. However, compared to Gail's house, my pride is like a joke. I don't know why we can only give 5 stars. Such a pity! Communicating with Gail was extremely pleasant. From the pictures and reviews, we already knew this house would be great. When we actually settled down, we found "great" was not even close to how it really is. My English is not enough for me to describe everything. I will do my best. The house is like a 5-star home. On the one hand, you have the welcome card, wine and the hospitality soaps. On the other hand, the house is full of beautiful personal touches. Everything is so thoughtful. The garage has a lot of beach umbrellas and chairs for you to enjoy yourself on the beach. There are loads of maps and information about the neighborhood. Each piece of outdoor furnitures has a cushion. The cellphone signal is bad so they have prepared a landline for you. The kitchen is really "FULLY" equipped. There is not just one chopping board, there are more than three. There are all kinds of pots, plates, cups, cutlery which you might need. And there are three ways to make coffee. Even my own kitchen can't compare with this. There are plenty of towels and beautiful beach towels, all premium quality. I understand very well how much this costs. Now let's talk about some "normal" stuff. The views from the balconies are so, so beautiful, stunning, breath-taking... especially from the top floor. They made you forget about time. The location is brilliant: 100m from a small "private" beach, 1km from the Penguins Boulders Beach, 500m from a golf course. The DSTV package is the full bouquet. Gail has prepared for any situation which might happen in AFRICA. Cellphone signal bad? There is a landline (as mentioned). Might have load shedding? There are solar lights and the Internet equipment is connected to a back-up battery. Might have water shortage? Rain water is collected in a Jo-Jo tank for you to flush the toilet. The tap is just in the scullery. Want to braai? There is gas and charcoal braai equipment. I never knew a gas braai was so nice. I bought one immediately when we got back home. And finally, I want to say that I do not know how to do better. We will definitely come back again even though we also live close to a famous beach - Blouberg, which is just a 1-hour drive away.

Review by Kat Van Duinen-Gough, South Africa (stayed Sept 2020)

Such an incredibly generous host. One feels as if one is arriving home! Everything one needs is at the house and the welcome pack includes milk, coffee, rusks etc, etc. We thought it was so kind and thoughtful. Wardobes had hangers, all crockery and cutlery, board games, blankets - the list continues. An absolutely perfect weekend away - whales splashing in the ocean in front of the window, morning runs and swims. Wonderful terrace with great views. Gail has thought of absolutely everything. I can't recommend the spot enough. Thank you Gail and Chesney for such a splendid weekend. Fond regards, Kat, Kelly, Frederic and Charlotte.

Review by Mynhardt Bester, South Africa - based in the UK (stayed July/August 2020)

Thank you ever so much for our stay in your beautiful home in Murdoch Valley. It brought our family a lot of happiness in trying times. Thank you also for giving us an affordable monthly rate. We will dream of what we think is the best swimming beach in Cape Town (the turquoise beach below Felsensicht) when we are back in the UK. We had great fun in the water there on sunny days and hope to visit again in the future.

Review by Denis Beckett, South Africa (stayed August 2019)

Hello, Gail and Rene, good to “meet” you via three nights at Felsensicht, and good to meet Felsensicht up close and personal. What an enjoyable period this was, made all the more so by staying in your lovely home. We much admired, too, the way that everything is so correctly done, and classy, and how you could leave us all those neat and clear instruction notes without ever sounding bossy! Not least, I for the first time meaningfully imbibe the impact of facing north across the bay. Sets thoughts in motion ...

Thanks and best wishes to you,                  
Denis Beckett
https://www.facebook.com/beckettstrek/?modal=admin_todo_tour

Review by Jackie and Anton Van Den Heever, South Africa (stayed February 2019)

We have been repeat guests at Felsensicht over the past 13 years.  It is the most wonderful home in the most perfect setting. Thank you, Gail and René, for the many special memories we have here and hope to continue enjoying.
Jackie & Anton Van Den Heever

Review by Jacqueline Housel, USA (stayed December 2017)

Spacious home at a great location - just a few minutes walk to the beach. Terrific view from the balconies. Clean and comfortable. A great pick for our first trip to South Africa and the Cape area.

Review by Hans-Dieter Pries, Germany (stayed July 2017)

Da wir "Felsensicht" nicht als Geheimtipp für uns behalten können: sehr Empfehlenswert

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Drei Generationen, Großeltern, Eltern und Enkelkinder haben vom 05 -11.07.2017 einen Teil ihres Urlaubes in diesem sehr schönen Haus verbracht und sind voll des Lobes. Ausstattung und Zustand des Hauses sind überduchschnittlich, die Sicht auf die Bucht ist wunderschön. Die Lage auf der Kaphalbinsel und Nähe zu Kapstadt machen diesen Standort ideal für Ausflüge in die Region. Die organisatorische Abstimmung und Kommunikation sind einwandfrei. Die Boulders-Pinguine sind fussläufig erreichbar und,obwohl früh im Jahr, ein Wal und jagende Delfine wurden gesichtet.

Translated: Three generations, grandparents, parents and grandchildren spent part of their holiday in this very beautiful house from 05 -11.07.2017 and are full of praise. The equipment and condition of the house are above average, the view of the bay is beautiful. The location on the Cape Peninsula and close to Cape Town make this location ideal for excursions into the region. The organizational coordination and communication are impeccable. The boulders penguins are within walking distance and, although early in the year, a whale and hunting dolphins were spotted.

Review by Shireen Barnett-Harris (stayed March 2017)

Felsensicht is a wonderful house & we had an absolutely amazing time staying there. We often rent homes in & around Cape Town for long weekends & must say that your house is probably the most well maintained & organised house we have ever rented. It is extremely well kitted out with everything that we could possibly have needed & Jim, your caretaker, was a pleasure to deal with. And those views are something else! We look forward to staying there again

Review by Rod Coy, United Kingdom (stayed February 2017)

"Beautiful House in a Wonderful Location"

We are 3 mature couples who stayed at Felsensicht for a week in February 2017. The house is situated on a hillside above False Bay offering outstanding views of this wonderful coastline. The house is very well equipped, tastefully decorated and very well maintained. The open plan lounge area is very comfortable with loads of space for guests to sit together or for individuals to find a quiet corner. The kitchen has everything one might need. The very spacious terrace outside the lounge offers magnificent views across the bay. Eating breakfast here was a delight. We also made use of the excellent BBQ facility. The bedrooms are comfortable and all open onto the upper balcony. Security at the property is excellent. Only a short distance from the house is a gorgeous, safe swimming beach which is a great place to take a quick dip or spend a lazy day. Gail and Rene have provided huge amounts of information about the area and its attractions. Simon's Town has a great deal to offer any visitor. Make sure you visit and swim with the penguins at Boulders Beach. Delightful! Our pick of places to eat would include Bertha's, Mangata, The Salty Sea Dog and The Black Marlin.

From the moment we booked, communications with Gail and Rene were very easy. Any questions were answered quickly. We recommend Felsensicht without reservation. Thanks also to Jim the Caretaker. Sadly our stay of a week was far too short

Review by Marianne Strelau, South Africa (stayed September 2016)

You have the most wonderful home. Thank you so much for allowing us to use  it. My German visitors loved and appreciated it. As we sat at the breakfast table it was wonderfully "gemütlich". We all felt very privileged that you trusted us with your beautiful furnishings. The art work is exactly our taste and was admired by all. If I have family visiting again, I will definitely contact you. With thanks and appreciation, Marianne.

Review by Geraldine McCauley, Great Britain (stayed February 2014)

"Loved this house"

As a family of five seniors, we found this such a delightful place to stay. The town was interesting and located close enough to Cape Town to take advantage but enjoy a peaceful setting. Many thanks to Jim for being so helpful. Highly recommended.

Review by Toni Mainprize, Cape Town (stayed September 2013)

We had a wonderful time at Felsensicht - thank you. You have really done a wonderful job on your beautiful holiday home and we immediately felt at home and relaxed there. We enjoyed Simonstown, the sailing in False Bay was beautiful and the weather turned out great. All in all we were very, very happy. Thank you for all your efficient organising for us and yes, we will definitely be back again.

Review by Wendy van Elden, Durban (stayed August 2013)

Felsensicht is a beautiful home with the most exquisite views imaginable. On a clear day you can see almost the whole of False Bay and sometimes you're rewarded with views of whales blowing and romping right in front of your veranda! The home is comfortable and has everything you need. The furnishings are tasteful and you feel like you've come home. The property is extremely well maintained and the wonderful gentleman who welcomes you and takes care of your needs is an absolute delight. The owners also go out of their way to ensure that you have a fabulous stay. There are lots of brochures and suggestions of things to do and places to visit. I would highly recommend this holiday home. It's very close to Cape Point Nature Reserve where the walks and views are spectacular; the wine farms of Constantia and Stellenbosch and surrounds are easily accessible; there are lovely restaurants (try the Harbour House) and coffee shops with croissants that are to die for; Chapman's Peak Drive and the famous Chapman's Peak Hotel (the calamari is legendary) are also very accessible. And of course the area offers so much more to explore - prepare to return many a time!

Review by Nicolas Wilmot, Norway (stayed Feb/Mar 2013)

The most impressive aspect of Felsensicht was the care and attention that the owners have put into the house in order to make everything practical and convenient. The house has a wonderful calm atmosphere and it is difficult to think of a better place to be to enjoy the sun and relax. It was very nice to meet the caretaker, Jim, as well and we had a couple of good talks - he is a delightful person.

The following sums up my feelings about Felsensicht: "If you are not happy here - you probably won't be happy anywhere."

Review by Jennifer Bell, USA (stayed October 2012)

Thank you for sharing your home. The accommodation is elegant and the view is spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed the terrace. Simon's Town is beautiful and we can't wait to come back to visit. Thanks so much.

Review by Eileen O'Grady, Ireland (stayed March 2012)

Dear Gail,

I recently stayed in your home with Johan de Bruyn, his wife and some friends from Ireland. I just want to say a personal thank you to you. I had the most relaxing few days with a little hiking thrown in just to remind me life isn't always a lazy day on the beach. The wonderful views and precious memories will stay with me wherever I journey. You have a beautiful home and I thank you for sharing it with us.

Thanks to your lovely witty Caretaker too.

Kind regards
Eileen O'Grady
Ireland.

Review by Karen Smithers, Kwazulu Natal (stayed December 2011)

"Stunning views, excellent facilities, beautifully furnished”

We had a wonderful stay at Felsensicht during our son's recuperation from a back operation. The house itself is well situated with beautiful views from the bedrooms, bath (!), and balconies on two levels. It is beautifully furnished, comfortable, spacious, well equipped and peaceful. Simon's Town is a lovely village with no big franchised shops to spoil the atmosphere. Altogether a wonderful house which we'd like to return to in the future. It was a pleasure to book through Gail who took a personal interest in our wellbeing; and the caretaker, Jim, was organized and extremely pleasant to work with.

Review by Brad Matthews, Boise, Idaho, USA (stayed November 2011)

"Brilliant house, gorgeous view, great location and very kid friendly”

It's obvious that the owners, Gail and Rene, have put a lot of effort into making Felsensicht a comfortable holiday home. From a friendly greeting at the start by caretaker Jim to the well appointed and very modern furnishings, I think they've thought of just about everything. Gail was thoroughly friendly but professional throughout and I've come away very impressed!

We stayed for a week in November with our 19 month old son and it was a delight. The patio is large and very safe for a toddler (we picked the house in part because the railing appeared secure enough for a little one - it was). The beach is 200 metres away and offered endless entertainment - and 1/4 mile further is a beach full of penguins!

Highly recommended in every way.

Review by Kimberly Hochreiter, South Africa (stayed August 2011)

Thank you for a wonderfully relaxing weekend at Felsensicht. The house is beautiful and in excellent condition with some breathtaking views of False bay. We especially enjoyed walks in the surrounding area and trips to the beach. Thank you for a friendly reception by the caretaker and smooth organisation by the owner. We hope to return soon!

Review by Alyson Samson, South Africa (stayed August 2011)

Magnificent! We had a lovely stay. The house is wonderful and lacked nothing. We will definitely use it again.

Review by Helen Scott, Vermont, America (stayed April 2011)

We had a fantastic time in Cape Town.  Your house was wonderful.  It had everything that we needed.  I will recommend it to my friends as well as travel agent.

Next Page ≥

Web page updated: 19 May, 2021
Web Design: G Hochreiter; hochreiter@mweb.co.za